Muirfield High School

Excellence in comprehensive secondary education

Telephone9872 2244

Subject Selection

Stage 5

Year 9 is the first year of Stage 5. Students undertake mandatory study in English, Mathematics, Science, PDHPE, History and Geography in Years 9 & 10. In Year 8 at Muirfield,  students select three 200-hour electives that will be studied over the two years of Stage 5. The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) issues the Record of School Achievement (RoSA) to eligible students with grades from courses completed in Stage 5 (Year 10).

The offerings for 2021-2022 Stage 5 cohort are available in the Stage 5 Subject Selection Handbook (PDF 4193KB).  

Stage 6

Year 11  is the first year of Stage 6. In Stage 6, students are Seniors and are studying for their Higher School Certificate. The only mandatory course for the HSC is English. Subject selection process commences in Year 10 and includes individualised advice. The offerings for the 2020-2021 Stage 6 cohort are available in the Senior School Subject Selection Booklet (PDF 856KB).